#irideYEG – Dave Hall

Dave_H_TCardWhat is your commute like?

30 km – River valley, bike routes and a few streets. Thankfully, my company has installed a bike rack inside for me and other cyclists.

What are some of your favourite things about Edmonton?

It’s growing to be a top notch foodie city with a good standard of living.

How long have you been cycling? What got you started?

I’ve been riding since I was 6 years old and commuting to work for 4 years (all year round). I cycle commute for fitness, because I love bikes, to manage stress, and because it’s environmental logical and fun.

What do you like about biking in Edmonton?

Seeing my city like I never would trapped in a car in traffic. The High Level Bridge in the morning, and the river valley in the evening.

What’s your favourite place to ride for fun?

The river valley.

What challenges do you face as a cyclist in Edmonton?

 Dated attitudes regarding cycling, lack of cycle routes and ones that are not cleared in winter.

What would you like to see for bike infrastructure in Edmonton?

Invest, make it safer, restrict vehicles in downtown core.

How safe do you feel on your commute?

In the summer, ok. In winter, trails and bike paths are still neglected. And at times in winter, some drivers appear to hate people that ride at -30c.

Do you have any other thoughts about winter biking?

Fat bike + blizzard = a fast and fun commute.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a comment